Which laptop would be better for college use and gaming?

I play Overwatch but also play games like Doom Eternal, Resident Evil 2/4 remake, GTA 5, and some newer titles. I also need the laptop to do compiling of code and other simulations as I am majoring in Cybersecurity.

So is the Legion Pro 7i, Legion 9i, or the new ASUS Zephyrus G16 the best bet?

• Legion Pro 7i for value, Legion 9i if money is no object here for premium features (performance is comparable to 7i). Any of those 3 picks you listed would absolutely get your listed games running without any issue, though for both simulation work and gaming performance the Zephyrus G16 is going to be the least performant at matching specs and to a larger degree than just margin of error. I’d say rule out that device and look at other Legion devices if you want more options here. The Pro 7i still wins against the 9i in the performance department according to reviewers testing such as GizmoSlipTech on youtube who found that the Pro 7i was able to sustain higher power/clocks at lower temperatures for longer periods of time due to its bigger cooling system. The Legion 9i is for if you want comparable performance to this but with more premium build/features and a much nicer display with higher resolution and color accuracy, which as far as I know may be unnecessary for you since you seemingly aren’t doing anything that requires such color accuracy. This isn’t to say the Legion Pro 7i isn’t premium built and color accurate, just by comparison. If I were in your position, Pro 7i makes sense to me since I imagine sustained higher performance is more important for simulations that may take longer to complete and saves some money too.

• I highly recommend avoiding the G16. It will have nerfed performance compared to the other two, while costing more. The 9i is a good middle ground as its weight isnt as much as the 7i